Sachin Tendulkar – The Legend.

I’m the kind of person who doesn’t exactly hype over classics. I’ve never watched Titanic, I think superman is a freak with a bad fashion sense, I barf every time I see couples holding hands. (This might offend the rest of the world but I’m going to say it anyway) I don’t even like A.R.Rahman who is known to be the most successful and popular artist from India. The next obvious addition to that would be Sachin Tendulkar considering all the buzz that’s been going on lately regarding his retirement from cricket. But he however I’m quite fond of. I’m going to start off this entry by stating the obvious. Yes, it is about Sachin. It’s kind of hard not write about him now.

image

The God of cricket. Yup, that’s what they call him around here. He’s achieved great feat as a cricketer and it wouldn’t be exaggeration to say as a person as well. I got sucked into this Sachin hype during the 2009-2010 O.D.I. when the “Master Blaster” scored a breathtaking 200 showing the world what he was all about. I still remember how I pretended to get some water and hid behind the fridge tearing up when goosebumps went crazy all over my body. Sachin is undoubtedly one of the few people who have made the world think that being Indian is special. 

You may wonder why I’m making such a huge deal out of cricket. Well that is common if you’re not from India. So you need a little back story. As much as I am proud of my country, the people here fight over petty things and make a huge (very huge) mess out of them. Unity is something people can only dream about here. But when it comes to cricket, it is the one sport.No, the one thing that unites all of us in never ending prayers and excitement and hope that OUR country’s team wins. It’s sometimes a matter of pride even. We all need a solid stand and for India it was and still is cricket.

So when this sport is something so important to everyone in this heavily populated country its naural that the one man who’s gone to great heights in it matters a lot. If Sachin were only a good cricketer he wouldn’t be this famous. Because, we have quite a lot of good players here if I may say so myself. Like, Mahendra Singh Dhoni who’s now the embodiment of good leadership and such. Sachin is this famous because of how humble he is. His attitude and who he is as a person without cricket. He’s shown the world what places determination and hard work can take you.

Those of you people who just annoyed when you see someone doing great things but not even accepting their due credit, I’m with you on that one. But with Sachin its different. He is what I’d call honestly humble and not another media lover who is obsessed with emotional stunts. He is a son who looked at his late father as his hero, he took his advice seriously and even bothered to share it with the world in his farewell speech. 

“The most important person in my life, and I have missed him a lot since 1999 when he passed away, my father. Without his guidance, I don’t think I would have been standing here in front of you. He gave me freedom at the age of 11, and told me that [I should] chase my dreams, but make sure you do not find shortcuts. The path might be difficult but don’t give up, and I have simply followed his instructions. Above all, he told me to be a nice human being, which I will continue to do and try my best. Every time I have done something special [and] showed my bat, it was [for] my father.”
That is indeed some valuable advice. “Follow your dreams, but make sure you do not find shortcuts.” 
I know I’ll never forget him. Who he was, who he has made me want to be. I don’t think any Indian would. Because, legends don’t retire..
2 comments

Leave a Reply

